The Ashworth Deck

My family lived in our house on Ashworth Avenue since I was two. A couple of years ago, they finally sold it an moved on to bigger, better digs. This new house, though, isn’t my home. While I’m sure they’d find room for me if necessary, there’s not really a place for me there. The Ashworth House is my childhood home; the house where my pets are buried in the back yard, the sidewalk where I learned to ride my bike, and the driveway where I learned to park my car.

So, when my family moved out, and I helped pack, get rid of stuff, clean, and the other chores that moving families do, it was very hard on me. To memorialize this house, I took photos and incorporated them into collage paintings that became the basis for this deck of cards. I made five copies of The Ashworth Deck and gave one copy to each of my family members—me, my sisters Katie and Kellie, and my mom and dad.

I’m created a slightly revised version of this deck to offer for sale. This version of The Ashworth Deck isn’t personalized, but includes all 22 cards, plus a title card. Each card is 3.5 inches square, color printed and laminated, and presented in a paper wrapper. The cards are great to use to remind yourself of what is important about home, and can also be used as journal prompts, or even framed as individual works of art. If you’d like a copy, they’re available through my etsy shop at kerrie.etsy.com.

Leave a Reply

